Book ReviewsFolklore and MythologyGraphic NovelsQuotationsDigital Humanities
This is the "Graphic Novels" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

This guide has some general resources for the English department. For more specific areas of study in the English department, please see the related topics tab and the other guides under the English research by subject category.
Last Updated: May 16, 2014 URL: http://muohio.v1.libguides.com/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Graphic Novels Print Page
  Search: 
 

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels

  • Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
    Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
 

New Books about Graphic Novels and Comics

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Reference Books about Graphic Novels and Comics

Booker, M. Keith. Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels. 2 volumes.  King Reference PN6707 .E49 2010

Gaumer, Patrick.  Dictionnaire Mondial de la Bande Dessinée.  King Reference  PN6707 .G39 1998

Horn, Maurice.  The World Encyclopedia of Comics. 7 volumes.  King Reference PN6710 .W6 1998

Kannenberg, Gene, Jr.  500 Essential Graphic Novels: The Ultimate Guide. King Reference PN6710 .K35 2008

Pawuk, Michael.  Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and MoreKing Reference  PN6710 .P38 2007

Pendergast, Tom, and Sara Pendergast.  U-X-L Graphic Novelists. King Reference NC1305 .P46 2007

 

Tips for Searching for Graphic Novels and Comics in our Collection

You will find graphic novels and comics (and books about them) scattered throughout our collection.  Some likely places include the circulating collection on the second floor of King in the P section, the folios (over-sized books) on the second floor of King, the Instructional Material Center on the ground floor of King, Special Collections, the Wertz Art and Architecture Library at Alumni Hall, and our branch campus libraries.  When you find a relevant book in our catalog, pay careful attention to the location.

The names for these kinds of works can vary greatly (graphic novels, comics, comix, sequential art, etc.).  You may need to try more than one term for what you are looking for.  One helpful subject heading is:

Comic books, strips, etc.

Two relevant call number ranges are:

PN6700-6790=Comic books, strips, etc.

NC1300-1766=Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.

Plus check out these tips for finding scholarly literature on graphic novels from Columbia University Libraries.

 

New Graphic Novels and Comics in the Collection

Cover Art
New School - Dash Shaw (Artist)
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6727.S4925 N49 2013
ISBN: 1606996444
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
March - John Lewis; Andrew Aydin; Nate Powell (Artist)
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | E840.8.L43 A3 2013 v.1
ISBN: 1603093001
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Mark Twain was right : the 2001 Cincinnati riots - Keith Rosson; Dan Moore
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6727.M667 M37 2012
ISBN: 1934620211
Publication Date: 2012-09-26

Cover Art
The Woman Rebel: the Margaret Sanger story - Peter Bagge
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | HQ764.S3 B33 2013
ISBN: 1770461264
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Blue Is the Warmest Color - Julie Maroh
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6747.M36 B5413 2013
ISBN: 1551525143
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Sailor Twain: or, The mermaid in the Hudson - Mark Siegel
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6727.S51549 S25 2012
ISBN: 1596436360
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Maximum Minimum Wage - Bob Fingerman
Call Number: King Folio | PN6725 .F56 2013
ISBN: 1607066742
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Co-Mix: a retrospective of comics, graphics, and scraps - Art Spiegelman
Call Number: King Folio | PN6727.S65 A6 2013
ISBN: 1770461140
Publication Date: 2013

Special Collections and Museums

  • Belgian Comic Strip Center, Brussels
    In a masterpiece of Art Nouveau designed by Victor Horta (1906),the Belgian Comic Strip Center brings together everything related to the comic strip,from its prestigious beginnings to its most recent developments, on more than 4,000 square metres of museum floors.
  • Cartoon Art Museum, San Francisco  
      
    From editorial cartoons to comic books, graphic novels to anime, Sunday funnies to Saturday morning cartoons, the Cartoon Art Museum has something for everyone.
  • Cartoon Library and Museum, Ohio State University
    The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum's primary mission is to develop a comprehensive research collection documenting American printed cartoon art, to organize the materials, and to provide access to these resources.
  • La Cite Internationale de la Bande Dessinee et de l'Image
    The web site of a center in Angouleme, France, which includes a museum, research library, and bookstore. The museum is the primary French museum of comic art.
  • Comic Art Collection, Michigan State University
    The Comic Art Collection holds over 200,000 items. Most of these items are comic books, but also included are over 1,000 books of collected newspaper comic strips, and several thousand books and periodicals about comics.
  • Edwin and Terry Murphy Comic Book Collection, Duke University
    The Murray comic collection is notable for its size, depth, and comprehensive holdings of Marvel and DC comics from the mid-1960s to 2001. Most major American genres are represented, including superhero, crime, sci-fi, western, romance, funny animal, biography, humor, war, and horror.
  • Library of Congress, Serial and Government Publications, Popular Culture Collection  
      
    The largest collection of comics books in the United States is housed in the Serial and Government Publications Division. The collection includes U.S. and foreign comic books—over 5,000 titles in all, totaling more than 100,000 issues. Primarily composed of the original print books, the collection includes color microfiche of a handful of the early comic books (such as Wonder Woman, Superman, and Action Comics) and special reprints.
  • Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art (MoCCA), NYC
    The purpose of the Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art is the collection, preservation, study, education, and display of comic and cartoon art. Every genre of the art is represented: animation, anime, cartoons, comic books, comic strips, gag cartoons, humorous illustration, illustration, political illustration, editorial cartoons, caricature, graphic novels, sports cartoons, and computer-generated art.

Humanities Librarian

Profile Image
Arianne Hartsell-Gundy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
King Library 208
Miami University
Oxford, OH 45056
(513) 529-8494
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip